Rugby World Cup 2019 Japan

When does the Rugby World Cup 2019 take place?

The Rugby World Cup will take place from 20th September (Fri) to 2nd November (Sat), 2019 – a great time of year to visit Japan – not too hot and not too cold. Perfect rugby weather – for playing or spectating..

How many matches are being played?

In total, 48 matches will be played. This includes 40 pool matches, quarter-finals, semi-finals, a bronze-final and the final.

Where does the final take place?

The final will take place on the 2nd November (Sat) 2019 in the Yokohama Stadium, Kanagawa – a short train ride from Tokyo.

Subscribe to receive RWC 19 Japan updates

What are the team pools?

There are four pools of five teams for Rugby World Cup 2019.

Pool A | Ireland, Scotland, Japan, Europe 1 and Playoff Winner.

Pool B | New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, Africa 1 and Repechage Winner.

Pool C | England, France, Argentina, Americas 1 and Oceania 2.

Pool D | Australia, Wales, Georgia, Oceania 1 and Americas 2.

Eight of the teams are yet to be confirmed and will be decided by play-offs closer to the tournament.

How do you get tickets?

Tickets are not yet available for Rugby World Cup 2019.

The rugby matches are being played in 12 state-of-the-art stadiums right across Japan.

Sapporo Dome
Kamaishi Recovery Memorial Stadium
Kumagaya Rugby Stadium
Tokyo Stadium
International Stadium Yokohama
Shizuoka Stadium Ecopa
City of Toyota Stadium
Hanazono Rugby Stadium
Kobe Misaki Stadium
Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium
Kumamoto Stadium
Oita Stadium

Which games will be played in which city will be announced in September 2017.